DATABASES
WANT TO SEARCH ACROSS ALL OF OUR RESOURCES? START HERE:
See an alphabetical list of all of our individual databases below.
DATABASES
African American Historical Newspapers (NewsBank)
Featuring the voices, stories, and opinions from prominent African American newspapers 1827-1998.
American Economic Association Journals
Access to a plethora of economics research. *see username/password in remote access documentation at right.
America's Historical Newspapers (NewsBank)
Articles and other newspaper content from 1690 -2000. Sources searchable by eras, timelines, or topics. Eyewitness accounts, pro/con positions on events, articles on issues of the times, or reports about daily life.
Photographs from the Associated Press.
Requires first-time login while on-campus.
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media.
Access to Boston Globe articles from 1980 - current through Proquest.
Britannica- High School Edition
Encyclopedic articles supplemented by videos, news headlines, and materials to support teaching and learning.
Academic Search Complete, Academic Ebooks, and scholarly material across all of the databases we subscibe to in one place. For scholarly, peer-reviewed research and ebooks.
Collection of eBooks in support academic research.
Full-text articles and primary documents in subject-specific areas. Includes The Boston Globe, Culinary Collection, Expanded Academic ASAP, History Resource Centers (U.S. & World), & Science in Context.
The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today.
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Graphical editions of five historical newspapers: NY Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post.
Contains eBooks and peer-reviewed journals.
Oxford Reference: Dictionary of Arabic and Literary Terms
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Oxford Grove Dictionary of Art
Oxford Grove Dictionary of Music
Oxford Reference Online (*dictionary of Arabic Literary Terms)
This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences.
Site license for access to full-text articles in Nature, Science, & Scientific American-- current issues and archives. Access to Science is on-campus only!
Any institutional user whose email address is registered to the email domain in our system, @csw.org, will be able to access Social Explorer remotely by verifying their institutional email address. They can go to https://accounts.socialexplorer.com/signup?context=socialexplorer, create an account with their institutional email address, and automatically get a license.
Video streaming from anywhere, 24/7. Segmented documentaries for classroom use & research. Content is searchable (by keyword or title) in the library catalog.
OFF CAMPUS ACCESS
When searching at home, in a coffee shop, or anywhere off campus, you will need a username and password to log into each database.
For remote access to all databases:
Please see our username and password here.
NOTE: This information should not be shared beyond the faculty, staff and students in the Cambridge School of Weston community.
Have questions? Email library@csw.org
OPEN SOURCE DATABASES
CORONAVIRUS RESEARCH DATABASE (Proquest) Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
DIRECTORY OF OPEN ACCESS JOURNALS
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed. All data is freely available.
ELSEVIER: OPEN ACCESS JOURNALS
All articles in open access journals which are published by Elsevier have undergone peer review and upon acceptance are immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download.
PLOS ONE
Peer-reviewed open access scientific journal published by the Public Library of Science.
BIOONE
Database of more than 200 subscribed and open-access titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Look for the Open Access symbol to find freely available articles.
BIOLINE INTERNATIONAL
Non-profit cooperative that operates an online platform for sharing works by peer-reviewed open access bioscience journals published in developing countries in Africa, Asia, and South America.